Of course we are in the middle of our first heat wave and the AC decided to stop working, which for some would be fine. However, when you live next to a train that blows its horn every so often that scares your little baby when the windows are open it is not. It is currently 80+ degrees in the condo and hopefully it will not get any hotter.
What does this mean...it means that the buttercream frosting I made yesterday that was on the cake that I made was melting! But at least it started to melt right before I had a bit and then threw the rest away. Why did I throw it away? Well, because I had to! If I didn't I would eat it all and then there goes being back at my pre pregnancy weight.
Now, why did I have a cake though...well because it was the last class for me my sister to take in the Course 3 class. We learned all about fondant, gum paste and royal icing flowers. It was a lovely class minus that it went late every time and that we bailed on it last week after we got there because the hubby had a temp over 103! I could not have him get the baby sick. So we left the class and both of us agreed our instructor was not happy. oh well!
Back to why I had a cake that I threw away. Well we know why I had to throw it away but I had it because we had to make a tiered cake. Two tiers! I made, frosted and fondanized (I made this word up) the cake. Now, the cakes were not so good. Why? Well, because I left them in the oven when I get to go get the baby from daycare so they were in the oven far too long. OOOPSSS, strike one! Don't worry for those reading this that have a cake coming from me, I will not do that with yours. Just this practice one. So then I made the buttercream, which haha did not get to be nice and fluffy...but had to use it (strike two)!
So, then I put the fondant on and off to class sister and I went. Now, we just made one cake for the both of us because it would be even more of a waste if we did two! We get to class and start getting to work. We start working and we have tons of time and not enough frosting and this is strike three. On a side note we probably have way more strikes but why should I tell you about them. :)
We are decorating the bottom parts of the cake and realize this and pretty much want to throw our hands up in the air and give up. We continue to laugh about how terrible this is going.
Sister starts rolling out fondant to cut some small flowers, and I turn and there she goes throwing some in her mouth! So I follow suit and do the same. This continues for a bit and we are just laughing and laughing. It is hot, we have nothing to do and are hungry. Now, don't judge it isn't that bad but when you have a tad too much you don't feel good.
We stacked our cake and took pictures (see below) and headed home 30 minutes early!!! It was great...of course until we got home and there was no AC! At least the baby was asleep and I could watch the Biggest Loser!
